The municipality comprises of 35 wards and covers approximately 4 421 km2 in extent. Phuthaditjhaba is the urban centre of Qwaqwa and serves as the administrative head office of Maluti-A-Phofung municipality.

Surrounding Phuthaditjhaba are rural villages of Qwaqwa established on tribal land administered by Department of Land Affairs. Harrismith is a service center for the surrounding rural areas and a trading belt serving the passing N3 which links the Gauteng and KwaZulu-Natal provinces. Harrismith is surrounded by Tshiame located 12 km to the west and Intabazwe, which is located 1,5km to the north. The town is an economic hub for people living in Tshiame, Intabazwe and Qwaqwa. Kestell is a service center for the surrounding agricultural oriented rural area with Tlholong as the township. Kestell is situated along the N5 road that links Harrismith with Bethlehem.
The rural areas of Maluti-A-Phofung comprise commercial farms and major nature conservation centres such as Qwaqwa National Park, Platberg, Sterkfontein Dam and Maluti Mountain Range. The area is not only a tourist attraction destination, but also makes a big contribution in generating gross agricultural income for the whole of the Province and is also highly regarded for its beef production.

In comparison with the demographic composition of the rest of the Thabo Mofutsanyana District, MAP municipality has the highest population density with the 3rd highest population density in the Free State. Maluti a Phofung Local Municipality (MAP) is a Category B municipality located in the eastern part of the Free State Province.

Maluti a Phofung forms part of a scenic tapestry, which changes dramatically with each season, the beauty and tranquility of which is palpable and almost overwhelming, which has as its rock-bed the famous Maluti Mountains, from which the Municipality is named after.

Majestic mountains with sandstone cliffs, fertile valleys of crops that stretch as far as the eye can see, fields of Cosmos and the golden yellow hues of Sunflowers, are just a few of the enchanting sights that make this region unique.

Battle sites and memorials left over from bygone wars, ancient fossil footprints from a prehistoric era, a wealth of art and craft and renowned resorts make this part of the region a destination to explore. The municipality is made up of three major towns, namely: Harrismith; Kestell and Qwaqwa/Phuthaditjhaba.